The Lloyd Mansion was the first home of the Exchange. The neo-classical palace built according to József Hild’s plans was one of the most beautiful buildings of 19th-century Pest. The main facade, with a five-bay central risalit and two five-bay wings presented a dignified and harmonious sight. The middle part of the building, rounded off by a tympanum, is flanked by two thin Ionic columns spanning two stories. Ever since the exchange was founded, its members always inspired for an independent and separate building.
The new headquarter was jointly built by BCSE and the Lloyd Association on the corner of Wurm and Mária Valéria Street (Budapest, 5th district, today Szende Pál and Apáczai Csere János Street from 1873 to 1905). The decorated mansion carried a number of gold-painted sculptures of Mercury on the top.
From the point of view of Budapest’s architectural history, the greatest achievement of the old BCSE was its mansion building at Szabadság square (Budapest, 5th district, Szabadság Square from 1905 until the exchange was shut down on 25 May 1948). The Stock Exchange Palace was designed by Ignác Alpár. The palace was 145 meters long and 41-61 meters wide, and was the largest building of its kind in Europe. The arched entranceway was adorned by two neo-renaissance towers with lions and a tympanum. On that Hephaestus and Mercury, the gods of commerce and industry, were seated. The facade is made of limestone from Süttő and Sóskút, and the lobby is covered in marble and granite. The Grünwald brothers and Miksa Schiffer’s company were the contractors; the decoration was made by the craftsmen of the Steindl Guild; Ignác Langer was the decorative sculptor, Béla Seenger and József Kauser were the stonemasons, and the majolica ornaments were prepared by the Zsolnay Factory.
After its reopening BSE commenced its operation in an 80-square-metre, windowless hall on the first floor in the International Trading Centre in Váci Street.
For 15 years the eclectic palace of the Pesti Hazai Első Takarékpénztár-Egyesület was home to the BSE on what today is known as Vörösmarty Square. The palace bordered by Váci Street and Deák Ferenc Street, was built between 1911 and 1915 to the designs of Ignác Alpár. The interior of the first and second floors was made out of high quality materials such as marble from Siena and French escalette. The ornate wooden doors, the meeting hall, and the layout of the foyer were prepared in regal splendor according to the designs of Ödön Faragó, the interior sections of the building are enveloped in the glory of Miksa Róth’s breathtaking stained glass windows. The facade reliefs and sculptures come from the workshop of Géza Maróti, and depict mythological gods and stories. Since 1933 it is registered as a part of UNESCO’s World Heritage, and is a historically preserved building.
The BSE’s previous headquarters, formerly a villa bearing the name of Mór Lipót Herzog, was home to one of Hungary’s largest private art collections. In its heyday the collection consisted of more than 3,000 pieces, many of which are currently housed in the Museum of Fine Arts. The illustrious building was designed by Rezső Ray and underwent serious interior renovation and transformation in order to meet the high technical requirements posed by BSE. The building is situated in the Andrássy Avenue, an iconic boulevard in Budapest, which links Elizabeth square with the Heroes square.
In February 2015 the BSE moved to new permises to the Szabadság Square. The current offices of BSE are located in the financial centre of Budapest, near the historical Exchange Palace.